Reflections

20/20 Vision for 2020

Reflection on Acts 20:22-24
“And now, behold, I am going to Jerusalem, constrained by the Spirit, not knowing what will happen to me there, except that the Holy Spirit testifies to me in every city that imprisonment and afflictions await me. But I do not account my life of any value nor as precious to myself, if only I may finish my course and the ministry that I received from the Lord Jesus, to testify to the gospel of the grace of God.” (ESV)

Paul here had such a singular vision, such a united pursuit in his life. In fact, if we read these words at first glance it could seem like that Paul hated his life and saw no value in it… But as we see this is not his point at all.

In Acts 9 we are told of this incredible encounter that Paul had with the Risen Lord Jesus, this encounter that so changed him that he went from fiercest opponent of Jesus to greatest promoter of Jesus. Paul was captured by the glory and value of King Jesus and this literally turned his whole life around.

And because Paul is so convinced about the value and preciousness of who Jesus is – as the Eternal Son of God, come to rescue him from sin and death – therefore for Paul, his temporal, earthly life and value he now counts as ‘loss’ compared to the ‘surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus’ his Lord for whose sake Paul suffered the loss of all earthly things, in order to gain Him the Most Valuable (Philippians 3).

As you enter 2020, how’s your vision… I mean… how’s your spiritual eyesight? Who is Jesus to you, friends?

God sent His Son into the world to save sinners like Paul, sinners like me, sinners like you… He came because we are lost without him, we have turned away from him, and refuse to come back to him…

Friends, my greatest prayer for you this year in 2020 is that your spiritual vision would be spot on. Though our physical eyes are failing, though the fires are raging, and ‘though the mountains be moved into the heart of the sea’ (Psalm 46), I plea… do you know King Jesus? Is He to you, what He is to Paul here? All valuable, all worthy, the Wonderful Saviour!?

May your spiritual vision be 20/20 this year, may you see and savour, value and serve the Risen Lord Jesus, the King.

Leave a comment