God's Love

Only sinners can be saved, see God’s love, even for you!

A reflection on Romans 5:6-8

For while we were still weak, at the right time Christ died for the ungodly. For one will scarcely die for a righteous person – though perhaps for a good person one would dare even to die – but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” (Romans 5:6-8)

It is a wonderful thing to feel our weakness, because we see our need. In fact it is often our failures and mistakes that lead us to see that we are far from perfect. This is a truly amazing passage. God’s Word here tells us that it was not because God looked down upon us and thought we were so wonderful or godly – in fact quite the opposite.

We read here ‘while we were still weak’, and ‘while we were still sinners’ and he goes on to say ‘while we were enemies’. We have not done ourselves any favours with God. God’s Word rightly calls us out – as weak, as sinners, as enemies. We have turned away from the Holy One who made us to know and enjoy Him.

But here is the outrageous thing – here is the absolutely incredible thing – ‘Christ died for the ungodly’. God shows his love for us in that ‘while we were still sinners, Christ died for us’! I can’t get over this or even get my head around it! The God who I have continued to offend, the One who I have run from and wronged – not to mention the people I have wronged who are made in His image!

This God has shown love for me – profound, incredible, outrageous love. He has sent even His own Son – Jesus Christ – to die for my wrongdoing so that I could be at peace with Him. So that I, the guilty one, may go free! And more than that – that I can now call Him even my own Father in heaven through Jesus Christ my Lord.

Do you know this love of God? Are you enjoying it?

Only sinners can be saved, see God’s love, even for you!

Leave a Reply

